The national voice of Canada's 17 faculties of medicineToday's Research, Tomorrow's Doctors


AFMC - John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education

To honour Dr. John Ruedy on his retirement as Dean of Medicine at Dalhousie University in 1999, the faculty of medicine established a national award in his name. The AFMC - John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education will be awarded to an individual or group who has developed innovative print materials, electronic learning aids or other teaching aids. These Canadian innovations can take the form of textbooks, software, CD-ROMS or other technology that has aided medical education initiatives in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing medical education.

The award will be presented at the 2015 Canadian Conference on Medical Education, held in Vancouver from April 25 to April 28, 2015 and includes repayment of certain expenses as determined each year by Dalhousie University. The recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference.

Nomination Procedure

Any faculty member, through the office of the dean may submit a nomination. Please ensure that you include a clear statement about the nominee's achievements, why he or she is being recommended, and an up-to-date curriculum vitae. The nomination package must also include two reference letters as well as a letter of support from the Dean. Each Canadian faculty of medicine may submit up to two nominations for this award.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is October 31, 2014. The nomination, including 1 copy of all documentation, should be sent to the AFMC at . Selected recipients will be notified in December 2014.

Previous Recipients

2014 Dr. Eric Wooltorton, University of Ottawa
2013 Dr. Stan Kutcher, Dalhousie University
2012 Dr. Kevin W. Eva, University of British Columbia, Dr. Geoff Norman, McMaster University, Dr. Harold Isaiah Reiter, McMaster University and Dr. Jack M. Rosenfeld, McMaster University
2011 Dr. Kevin Lachapelle, McGill University, Dr. Rachel Ellaway, Northern Ontario School of Medicine and Dr. David Topps, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
2010 Dr. Leila Lax, Dr. Laura Nells, Dr. Catherine Smith and Dr. Lynn Russell, University of Toronto
2009 Dr. Chi-Ming Chow, University of Toronto
2008 Dr. Gerald Fried, McGill University
2007 Dr. Michael Rosengarten, McGill University
2006 Dr. Patrick Croskerry, Dalhousie University
2005 Dr. David Fleiszer, McGill University
2004 Dr. Gustavo Duque, McGill University and Dr. Patricia Stewart, University of Toronto
2003 Dr. John Premi, McMaster University
2002 Dr. Michael Allen, Dalhousie University and Joan Sargeant, Dalhousie University
2001 Dr. Gloria Delisle, Queen's University and Dr. Lewis Tomalty, Queen's University
2000 Dr. Michael Fung Kee Fung, University of Ottawa and Dr. Karen Fung Kee Fung, University of Ottawa