The national voice of Canada's 17 faculties of medicineToday's Research, Tomorrow's Doctors

News & Events

What's New

January 2014

Recipients of the AFMC awards for outstanding contributions to medical education in Canada

January 28, 2014

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada is delighted to announce the 2014 recipients of the AFMC awards for outstanding contributions to medical education in Canada.

Dr. Yvonne Steinert from McGill University is the recipient of the President’s Award for Exemplary National Leadership in Academic Medicine.

The Award for Outstanding Contribution to Faculty Development in Canada goes to Dr. Danielle Blouin of Queen’s University.

Dr. Miriam Lacasse from Laval University will receive the Young Educators Award.

The John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education, sponsored by Dalhousie University, goes to Dr. Eric Wooltorton of University of Ottawa.

The May Cohen Equity, Diversity and Gender Award recipient is Dr. Janet de Groot from the University of Calgary.

Along with Mr. Richard C. Alvarez, President and CEO, Canada Health Infoway, we are pleased to announce that Dr. David Topps from the University of Calgary and Dr. Rachel Ellaway from the Northern Ontario School of Medicine are the co-recipients of the AFMC-Infoway, e-Health Award.

Congratulations to all!

Please come and support our recipients at the AFMC Presidential Address and Awards Ceremony at the 2014 Canadian Conference on Medical Education on Sunday, April 27, 2014 from 5 to 6 p.m. in the Confederation 3 Room, located on the fourth floor of the Westin Hotel in Ottawa.

Tickets are complimentary but RSVP is required at the time of registration for the conference.

We look forward to seeing you there!


Geneviève Moineau, MD, FRCPC
President and CEO, AFMC

About AFMC

The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) represents the country’s 17 faculties of medicine and is the national voice for academic medicine. Our organization was founded in 1943 and functions to support individually and collectively Canada’s medical schools through promotion of medical education, research, and clinical care.


Natalie Auger
Ph: 613-730-0687 Ext. 222
Fax: 613-730-1196