Projet de réponse de l’AFMC à la crise des opioïdes – Fin du projet pilote sur le manuel de simulation

Membres du corps professoral Apprenants
Catégorie
Nouvelles
Publications semblables
Prix d’humanisme AFMC – Gold
février 21, 2023
The AFMC Gold Humanism Award and Lecture was created in 2018 to emphasize, reinforce and enhance the importance of humanistic qualities among medical school students and faculty.  The recipient of 2023 AFMC Gold Humanism Award is Dr. Julie Bruneau.
Dévoilement de la Déclaration des institutions universitaires en santé sur la santé planétaire dans le cadre du CIMU
mai 23, 2023
The future of our planet and the health of our global community is at a critical point, and we are thrilled to see the positive response that the Academic Health Institutions’ Declaration on Planetary Health has received from the academic health community.

Avec le soutien de Santé Canada, le projet de Réponse de l’AFMC à la crise des opioïdes a créé un manuel de simulation en collaboration avec le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Le manuel de simulation fait partie intégrante du projet car il améliorera l'expérience d'apprentissage pratique en utilisant des scénarios médecin-patient fondés sur des cas. Le manuel de simulation complétera le programme de formation aux niveaux de l’EMPo et du DPC qui est en phase finale d'élaboration dans le cadre du projet de Réponse à la crise des opioïdes. Il sera fourni gratuitement aux 17 facultés de médecine canadiennes.

Le manuel de simulation contient six scénarios basés sur des cas qui ont été pilotés d'avril 2022 à septembre 2022 dans les établissements canadiens suivants : Université de Calgary, Université Western et Université d'Ottawa. Plus de 40 médecins résidents des établissements affiliés ont participé à ce projet pilote. 

L'objectif du pilote était de tester et de renforcer les scénarios fondés sur des cas. Des commentaires spécifiques ont été reçus sur plusieurs éléments du manuel de simulation, notamment sur la clarté des instructions, les modifications apportées au script et les conseils supplémentaires sur l'utilisation du manuel dans différents contextes et lieux de pratique. Les participants au projet pilote ont été impressionnés par les scénarios, car ils abordaient des sujets rarement soulevés, et ont trouvé que le contenu des scénarios était clair et complet. Des suggestions précieuses ont également été faites pour renforcer le manuel de simulation avant son lancement officiel.  

Les commentaires des trois établissements ont été compilés et seront évalués et intégrés par le CRMCC et le projet de Réponse à la crise des opioïdes afin de renforcer la version finale du manuel. Le manuel de simulation sera lancé en même temps que le programme d'études de l’EMPo et du DPC d'ici mars 2023.

AFMC’s Response to Opioid Crisis Project Completes Pilot of Simulation Playbook

Faculty Learners
Category
News
Similar Posts
The International Day at ICAM
February 21, 2023
AFMC’s Response to Opioid Crisis new curriculum to be launched in 2023
October 1, 2022
With Health Canada’s support, AFMC’s Response to Opioid Crisis Project successfully developed and released the Undergraduate Medical Education (UGME) curriculum in January 2021.

With Health Canada’s support, AFMC’s Response to Opioid Crisis project has created a Simulation Playbook in collaboration with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The Simulation Playbook is integral to the project as it will enhance the hands-on learning experience by utilizing case-based physician-patient scenarios. The Simulation Playbook will supplement the PGME and CPD curriculum that is in the final stages of development by the Response to Opioid Crisis project. It will be freely provided to all 17 Canadian medical schools.

The Simulation Playbook contains six case-based scenarios which were piloted from April 2022 to September 2022 at the following Canadian institutions: University of Calgary, Western University, and the University of Ottawa. The pilot included over 40 participating resident physicians from the affiliated institutions. 

The goal of the pilot was to test and strengthen the case-based scenarios. Specific feedback was received on several components of the Simulation Playbook, including on the clarity of instructions, edits to the script, and providing further guidance on utilizing the Playbook in different practice settings and locations. Pilot participants were impressed with the scenarios as they touched upon rarely discussed topics and found the scenario content to be clear and comprehensive. Valuable suggestions were also provided to strengthen the Simulation Playbook before its official launch.  

The pilot feedback from all three institutions has been compiled and will be assessed and integrated by the RCPSC and the Response to Opioids Crisis project in order to strengthen the final version of the Playbook.  The Simulation Playbook will be launched alongside the PGME and CPD curriculum by March 2023.