AFMC Clinical Teacher Award

The AFMC Clinical Teacher Award was created in 2014. This award aims to emphasize the importance of excellence in clinical teaching and to recognize an individual in Canada who has provided exceptional clinical teaching contribution.

The AFMC Clinical Teacher Award recognizes individuals who have a sustained track record as outstanding teachers to medical students, residents and other health profession students. The award is open to candidates who are clinicians with MD or another professional degree.

The award will be presented at the 2018 Canadian Conference on Medical Education (CCME), held in Halifax, Nova Scotia from April 28 to May 1, 2018. The recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference and an honorarium of $1,500.

Nomination Procedure

Nominators should take into consideration the quality of clinical teaching, impact and breadth of teaching provided, and mentorship to learners and other teachers provided by the candidate. Any faculty member, through the office of the dean, may submit a nomination. Please ensure that you include a cover letter with a clear statement about the nominee's teaching achievements, why he or she is being recommended for this national award. The nomination package must also include an up-to-date curriculum vitae, two reference letters from learners and one from a colleague, as well as a letter of support from the Dean of Medicine. Each Canadian faculty of medicine may submit up to two nominations for this award.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is September 30, 2017. The nomination, including 1 copy of all documentation, should be sent to the AFMC at . Selected recipients will be notified in November 2017.


Dr. Robert Silver, University of Toronto


Dr. Roxana Geoffrion, University of British Columbia


Dr. Jeffrey Schaefer, University of Calgary



AFMC is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year!

AFMC logos

Stay tuned for further details about the celebration.