AFMC - John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education

To honour Dr. John Ruedy on his retirement as Dean of Medicine at Dalhousie University in 1999, the faculty of medicine established a national award in his name. The AFMC - John Ruedy Award for Innovation in Medical Education will be awarded to an individual or group who has developed innovative print materials, electronic learning aids or other teaching aids. These Canadian innovations can take the form of textbooks, software, CD-ROMS or other technology that has aided medical education initiatives in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing medical education.

The award will be presented at the 2018 Canadian Conference on Medical Education, held in Halifax, Nova Scotia from April 28 to May 1, 2018 and includes repayment of certain expenses as determined each year by Dalhousie University. The recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference.

Nomination Procedure

Any faculty member, through the office of the dean may submit a nomination. Please ensure that you include a clear statement about the nominee's achievements, why he or she is being recommended, and an up-to-date curriculum vitae. The nomination package must also include two reference letters as well as a letter of support from the Dean. Each Canadian faculty of medicine may submit up to two nominations for this award.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is September 30, 2017. The nomination, including 1 copy of all documentation, should be sent to the AFMC at Selected recipients will be notified in November 2017.

Previous Recipients


Dr. Sanjay Sharma, Queen’s University


Dr. Irene Ma, University of Calgary


Dr. Roland Grad, McGill University


Dr. Eric Wooltorton, University of Ottawa


Dr. Stan Kutcher, Dalhousie University


Dr. Kevin W. Eva, University of British Columbia, Dr. Geoff Norman, McMaster University, Dr. Harold Isaiah Reiter, McMaster University and Dr. Jack M. Rosenfeld, McMaster University


Dr. Kevin Lachapelle, McGill University, Dr. Rachel Ellaway, Northern Ontario School of Medicine and Dr. David Topps, Northern Ontario School of Medicine


Dr. Leila Lax, Dr. Laura Nells, Dr. Catherine Smith and Dr. Lynn Russell, University of Toronto


Dr. Chi-Ming Chow, University of Toronto


Dr. Gerald Fried, McGill University


Dr. Michael Rosengarten, McGill University


Dr. Patrick Croskerry, Dalhousie University


Dr. David Fleiszer, McGill University


Dr. Gustavo Duque, McGill University and Dr. Patricia Stewart, University of Toronto


Dr. John Premi, McMaster University


Dr. Michael Allen and Joan Sargeant, Dalhousie University


Dr. Gloria Delisle and Dr. Lewis Tomalty, Queen's University


Dr. Michael Fung Kee Fung and Dr. Karen Fung Kee Fung, University of Ottawa



AFMC is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year!

AFMC logos

Stay tuned for further details about the celebration.