AFMC - May Cohen Equity, Diversity, and Gender Award

The AFMC - May Cohen Equity, Diversity, and Gender Award became a national award in 2003. This award was previously presented by the Gender Issues Committee of the Council of Ontario Faculties of Medicine.

The award and the associated $1,500 honorarium will be presented at the 2018 Canadian Conference on Medical Education (Halifax, Nova Scotia), April 28 - May 1, 2018, to recognize outstanding effort or achievement of an individual(s), program(s), department(s) or faculty in improving the gender equity environment in academic medicine in Canada. The recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference; however, other expenses for attending the conference are not covered.

Nomination Procedure

Nominators must submit a maximum 1000 word overview of the activity and outcomes, and demonstrate how the effort improved the equity, diversity, or gender environment in academic medicine. If necessary, up to three supporting documents may be included with the nomination. The nomination can include faculty development initiatives, educational programs, etc. The effort/achievement must have been initiated within the past five years, and/or the impact of the effort/achievement must be ongoing within the past five years.

Any faculty member, through the office of the dean may submit a nomination. Please ensure that you include a clear statement about the nominee's achievements, why he or she is being recommended, and an up-to-date curriculum vitae. The nomination package must also include two reference letters as well as a letter of support from the Dean. Each Canadian faculty of medicine may submit up to two nominations for this award.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is September 30, 2017. The nomination, including 1 copy of all documentation, should be sent to the AFMC at Selected recipients will be notified in November 2017.

Previous Recipients


Dr. Bruce Martin, University of Manitoba


Drs. Karine Igartua and Richard Montoro, McGill University


Dr. Gurdeep Parhar, University of British Columbia


Dr. Janet de Groot, University of Calgary


Dr. Jane Philpott, University of Toronto


Dr. Saleem Razaack, McGill University


Dr. Catherine Cook, University of Manitoba


No nominees


Dr. Wilfreda Thurston, University of Calgary and Dr. Sarita Verma, University of Toronto


Dr. Cara Tannenbaum, University of Montréal


Dr. Nahid Azad, University of Ottawa


Dr. Blye Frank, Dalhousie University and Dr. Susan Phillips, Queen's University


Dr. Barbara Lent, Western University 


Dr. Sheila Dunn, University of Toronto


Dr. Dorothy Shaw, University of British Columbia



AFMC is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year!

AFMC logos

Stay tuned for further details about the celebration.