AFMC President's Award for Exemplary National Leadership in Academic Medicine

The award recognizes excellence for national leadership in academic medicine. Activities might include providing leadership on national collaborative activities that provide frameworks for curriculum in health education; guidelines for faculty on teaching approaches or recruitment and student support, faculty affairs; advocacy for excellence in medical education or research in medical education; bio-medical or health services research.

The award and the associated $1,500 honorarium will be presented at the 2018 Canadian Conference on Medical Education (Halifax, Nova Scotia), April 28 - May 1, 2018. The recipient will receive a complimentary registration for the conference; however, other expenses for attending the conference are not covered.

Nomination and Procedure

The criteria the Selection Committee will use in making their decision and the kind of specific evidence that might be submitted are listed below.

Any faculty member, through the office of the dean may submit a nomination. Please ensure that you include a clear statement about the nominee's achievements, why he or she is being recommended, and an up-to-date curriculum vitae. The nomination package must also include two reference letters as well as a letter of support from the Dean. Each Canadian faculty of medicine may submit up to two nominations for this award.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is September 30, 2017. The nomination, including 1 copy of all documentation, should be sent to the AFMC at . Selected recipients will be notified in November 2017.

Criteria and Evidence

High degree of excellence in the body of work.

  • A clear description of two or more of the achievements of the nominee (see above for examples). This description should indicate the nominee's history of leadership and the ways in which the nominee's efforts were deliberate, systematic, serious and persistent (scholarly).
  • Evidence of changes to the medical education domain that result from the work of the nominee. This evidence is strongest if it can be directly linked to improved student learning or recruitment and support.
  • Indirect evidence showing how the work of the nominee is grounded in good practice, and hence likely to increase learning or recruitment and support of learners or faculty.
  • External recognition or awards received for the achievements of the nominee.
  • Evidence that the work received favourable peer review (It is imitated by others; reports of the work are published; the nominee is frequently asked to present talks or conduct workshops; colleagues write about the work; others inquire about the nominee and the work, etc.).

High degree of national leadership.

  • Statements by colleagues, students or administrators (as appropriate) that single out the effectiveness of the nominee in relation to the work described above.
  • Where the work was accomplished by a committee, the chair or other members of the committee should describe the degree to which the nominee was responsible for the achievements of the committee.
  • An indication of the range and diversity of the leadership activities of the nominee in this area. In general the more varied, frequent and complex the activities, the greater the evidence of leadership.

Impact of work.

  • Specific statements from those outside the nominee's department who have benefited from the work of the nominee. The effects of the work are felt in more than one faculty of medicine. In general the broader the impact of the work, the greater the evidence of leadership.
  • List and description of changes to teaching and learning, or recruitment and retention of learners or faculty that have occurred outside the nominee's department as a consequence of the work of the nominee.

Previous Recipients


Dr. Claire Touchie, University of Ottawa


Dr. Kevin Eva, University of British Columbia


Dr. Aurel Schofield, University of Sherbrooke 


Dr. Yvonne Steinert, McGill University


Dr. Paul Grand'Maison, University of Sherbrooke 


Dr. Joanna Bates, University of British Columbia


Dr. Brian Hodges, University of Toronto


Dr. Alan Neville, McMaster University



AFMC is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year!

AFMC logos

Stay tuned for further details about the celebration.