Education:

Aspirants et candidats

Vous songez à présenter une demande d’admission dans une faculté de médecine? Voulez-vous savoir les conditions d'admission?

Chaque année, l’AFMC recueille de l’information sur les conditions d’admission directement auprès des 17 facultés de médecine canadiennes et publie un guide gratuit pour aider les étudiants à suivre le processus de demande. Le guide contient des renseignements détaillés sur chaque faculté, des exigences du MCAT au nombre de places disponibles (incluant le détail des places limités ou réservées), sur les échéanciers et les dates de demande, les dates des entrevues, les exigences et les frais d’inscription, les taux de réussite des candidats, l’information sur les programmes combinés, la liste complète des personnes-ressources dans les services des admissions... et plus encore. Le guide d’admission de l’AFMC est l'endroit idéal pour obtenir des renseignements gratuits sur toutes les facultés de médecine du Canada dans un seul endroit pratique.

Programme d’aide financière de l’AFMC

Qu’est-ce que le MCAT?

Le Medical College Admission Test® (MCAT®), élaboré et administré par l'Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), est un examen normalisé informatisé destiné aux futurs étudiants en médecine des États-Unis et du Canada.

Qu’est-ce que le programme d’aide financière du MCAT?

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) offer a fee assistance program for Canadian examinees in financial need who register for the Medical College Admission Test® (MCAT®).

Quel est le but du MCAT?

Il est conçu pour évaluer les capacités en matière de résolution de problèmes, de pensée critique, de connaissance des concepts et principes liés aux sciences naturelles, comportementales et sociales préalables à l'étude de la médecine. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le MCAT®, veuillez consulter le site web de l'AAMC.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

L’AAMC et l’AFMC se sont engagées à soutenir les étudiants canadiens qui, sans aide financière, ne seraient pas en mesure de passer l’examen MCAT®. Cela contribuera à diversifier le bassin d’étudiants inscrits dans les facultés de médecine canadiennes.

Étape 1

Découvrez quelles facultés de médecine canadiennes exigent le MCAT dans le cadre de leurs conditions d’admission sous la rubrique Conditions d’admission des facultés de médecine canadiennes ou en consultant le site Web des facultés.

Étape 2

All applicants should read the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians Application Guide which offers all the information required including program eligibility, award benefits and post submission processes.

Étape 3

Vérifiez votre admissibilité en répondant au questionnaire en ligne. Si vous répondez aux critères d'évaluation décrits dans la vérification de l'admissibilité, vous pourrez alors vous présenter une demande au programme d'aide financière.

Étape 4

Review the application and processing timelines. The application period for the 2024 testing year is now open. All applicants must submit required financial documentation to verify personal income, that of a spouse (if applicable) and parent’s incomes.

 

 

Note: Tous les candidats doivent lire le Guide de l’usager du Programme d’aide financière (PAF) pour les candidats canadiens à l’examen MCAT® (Étape 2) avant de soumettre une demande.

Étape 5

The AFMC evaluates applications for fee assistance. Successful applicants will receive reduced scheduling, rescheduling and cancellation rates for 2024 testing year. Awardees will also receive the MCAT® Official Prep Online-Only Bundle.

Programme d’aide financière du MCAT
Étape 1

Découvrez quelles facultés de médecine canadiennes exigent le MCAT dans le cadre de leurs conditions d’admission sous la rubrique Conditions d’admission des facultés de médecine canadiennes ou en consultant le site Web des facultés.

Étape 2

Tous les candidats doivent lire le Guide de l’usager du Programme d’aide financière (PAF) pour les candidats canadiens à l’examen MCAT® qui offre tous les renseignements requis, notamment les critères d'admissibilité au programme, les avantages des bourses et les processus suivant la soumission.

Étape 3

Vérifiez votre admissibilité en répondant au questionnaire en ligne. Si vous répondez aux critères d'évaluation décrits dans la vérification de l'admissibilité, vous pourrez alors vous présenter une demande au programme d'aide financière.

Étape 4

Review the application and processing timelines. The application period for the 2023 cycle is now open. All applicants must submit required financial documentation to verify personal income, that of a spouse (if applicable) and parent’s incomes.

Note: Tous les candidats doivent lire le Guide de l’usager du Programme d’aide financière (PAF) pour les candidats canadiens à l’examen MCAT® (Étape 2) avant de soumettre une demande.

Étape 5

L’AFMC évalue les demandes d’aide financière. Les candidats admissibles bénéficieront de tarifs d’inscription, de report et d’annulation réduits pour l’année d’examen 2023 Ils recevront également accès à la trousse officielle de préparation au MCAT offert en ligne seulement.

Merci de l’intérêt que vous portez au Programme d’aide financière pour les candidats canadiens à l’examen MCAT®. Veuillez noter que la période de demande pour l’année 2024 est terminée. La prochaine période de demande s'ouvrira à l'automne 2024. Nous vous invitons à consulter cette page régulièrement pour toute mise à jour.

2024 Programme d'exonération des frais de demande d’admission dans les facultés de médecine

Le Programme d'exonération des frais de demande d'admission aux facultés de médecine (2024) permet aux candidats retenus de présenter gratuitement une demande d’admission dans les facultés de médecine canadiennes participantes. Ce programme a été mis sur pied pour aider les candidats pour qui les frais d’inscription à la faculté de médecine constituent un obstacle financier. Le programme de l’Ontario a été élaboré en collaboration avec Price of a Dream (POD), l’Association des facultés de médecine du Canada (AFMC), le Conseil des facultés de médecine de l’Ontario (COFM) et le Centre de demande d’admission aux universités de l’Ontario (OUAC).

 

Cette année, l'Université de l'Alberta et l'Université de la Saskatchewan pilotent également des programmes d'exonération des frais. Par conséquent, il y a au total trois programmes d'exonération des frais d'inscription aux facultés de médecine disponibles pour ce cycle de demande (2024-2025). Tous les organismes énumérés s'engagent à soutenir les étudiants canadiens qui n'auraient pas les moyens de s'inscrire à une faculté de médecine ou qui subiraient des contraintes financières importantes en tentant de s'inscrire à une faculté de médecine sans aide financière.

 

Veuillez-vous référer au Guide du Programme d'exonération des frais de demande d’admission dans les facultés de médecine 2024 Waiver  Program Guide. Le guide comprend des précisions nécessaires pour remplir votre demande, une liste des documents que vous devez obligatoirement fournir pour que votre demande d'aide financière soit prise en compte, une série de questions-réponses ainsi que les dates à retenir. Vérifiez votre admissibilité en répondant aux questionnaires en ligne présentés ci-dessous. Si vous répondez aux critères d'évaluation décrits dans la vérification de l'admissibilité, vous pourrez alors présenter une demande dans le cadre du Programme d'exonération des frais de demande.

 

Programme de l'Ontario

 

La période de dépôt des demandes débute le 27 juin 2024 et se termine le 22 août 2024 (23 h 59).

 

Les étudiants retenus seront dispensés des frais de traitement de l’OMSAS de 220 $ et auront la possibilité de présenter gratuitement une demande dans trois facultés de médecine de l'Ontario de leur choix au maximum (allant de 125 $ à 390 $ au total) pour le cycle de demande 2024-2025

 

VÉRIFIEZ VOTRE ADMISSIBILITÉ ET APPLIQUER

 

Programme de l'Université de l'Alberta

 

La période de dépôt des demandes débute le 13 mai 2024 et se termine le 15 juillet 2024 (23 h 59).

 

Les étudiants retenus seront dispensés des frais de demande de 180 $ pour le cycle de demande 2024-2025.

 

VÉRIFIEZ VOTRE ADMISSIBILITÉ ET APPLIQUER

 

Programme de l'Université de la Saskatchewan

 

La période de dépôt des demandes débute le 13 mai 2024 et se termine le 15 juillet 2024 (23 h 59).

 

Les étudiants retenus seront dispensés des frais de demande de 150 $ et des frais d'entrevue de 75 $ s'ils sont convoqués à une entrevue dans le cadre du programme de médecine pour le cycle de candidature 2024-2025.

 

VÉRIFIEZ VOTRE ADMISSIBILITÉ ET APPLIQUER

 

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec l’AFMC par courrielservice@afmcstudentportal.ca).

Education:

Aspirants & Applicants

Aspirants & Applicants

Thinking about Medical School? Want to know the admission requirements to medical school?

Every year the AFMC gathers information on Admission Requirements directly from the 17 Faculties of Medicine in Canada and publishes a free guide to help students navigate the application process. The guide contains detailed information on every school, from MCAT requirements, to the number of available seats (including breakdown of restricted or reserved seats), application timelines and dates, interview dates, application requirements and fees, applicant success rates, combined program information, a complete set of contacts for the admission departments…and much more. The AFMC Admissions Guide is the place to get free information on every medical school in Canada in one convenient location.

MCAT Fee Assistance Program

What is the MCAT?

The Medical College Admission Test® (MCAT®), developed and administered by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), is a computer-based standardized examination for prospective medical students in the United States and Canada.

What is the MCAT Fee Assistance Program?

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) offer a fee assistance program for Canadian examinees in financial need who register for the Medical College Admission Test® (MCAT®).

What is the purpose of the MCAT?

It is designed to assess problem solving, critical thinking, and knowledge of natural, behavioural, and social science concepts and principles prerequisite to the study of medicine. For further information about the MCAT®, please visit the AAMC.

Why it matters?

In our continuing efforts to support an increasingly diverse physician workforce, the AAMC and AFMC are providing support to Canadian students who would be unable to take the Medical College Admission Test® (MCAT®) without financial assistance.

Step 1

Find out which Canadian Faculties of Medicine require the MCAT test as part of their admission requirements at Admission Requirements of Canadian Faculties of Medicine or by checking the schools’ websites.

Step 2

All applicants should read the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians Application Guide which offers all the information required including program eligibility, award benefits and post submission processes.

Step 3

Check your eligibility by responding to the online questionnaire here. If you meet the assessment criteria outlined in the eligibility check, you will then have access to apply to the fee assistance program.

Step 4

Review the application and processing timelines. The application period for the 2024 testing year is now open. All applicants must submit required financial documentation to verify personal income, that of a spouse (if applicable) and parent’s incomes.

 

 

Note: All applicants should read the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians Application Guide (Step 2) prior to applying.

Step 5

The AFMC evaluates applications for fee assistance. Successful applicants will receive reduced scheduling, rescheduling and cancellation rates for 2024 testing year. Awardees will also receive the MCAT® Official Prep Online-Only Bundle.

MCAT Fee Assistance Program Application Steps
Step 1

Find out which Canadian Faculties of Medicine require the MCAT test as part of their admission requirements at Admission Requirements of Canadian Faculties of Medicine or by checking the schools’ websites.

Step 2

All applicants should read the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians Application Guide which offers all the information required including program eligibility, award benefits and post submission processes.

Step 3

Check your eligibility by responding to the online questionnaire here. If you meet the assessment criteria outlined in the eligibility check, you will then have access to apply to the fee assistance program.

Step 4

Review the application and processing timelines. The application period for the 2023 cycle is now open. All applicants must submit required financial documentation to verify personal income, that of a spouse (if applicable) and parent’s incomes.

Note: All applicants should read the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians Application Guide (Step 2) prior to applying.

Step 5

The AFMC evaluates applications for fee assistance. Successful applicants will receive reduced scheduling, rescheduling and cancellation rates for 2023 testing year. Awardees will also receive the MCAT® Official Prep Online-Only Bundle.

Thank you for your interest in the MCAT® Fee Assistance Program for Canadians. The application window for the 2024 year has been closed. The next application period will open in Fall 2024. We invite you to consult this page regularly for any updates.

2024 Medical School Application Fee Waiver Program

The 2024 Medical School Application Fee Waiver Program offers awarded students with free medical school applications to participating Canadian medical schools. This program was developed to support medical school applicants facing financial barriers to applying to medical school. The Ontario program was collaboratively developed by the Price of a Dream (POD), the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC), the Council of Ontario Faculties of Medicine (COFM), and the Ontario Universities’ Application Centre (OUAC).

 

This year, the University of Alberta and the University of Saskatchewan are piloting fee waiver programs as well. Therefore, in total there are three Medical School Application Fee Waiver Programs available in this application cycle (2024-2025). All the organizations listed are committed to providing support to Canadian students who would either be unable to afford to apply to medical school or would undergo significant financial strain by attempting to apply to medical school without financial assistance.

 

Please refer to the 2024 Medical School Application Fee Waiver  Program Guide. The Guide includes specifications for completing your application, as well as a list of necessary documents you must provide to be considered for fee assistance, FAQs, and other important dates. Check your eligibility by responding to the online questionnaires listed below. If you meet the assessment criteria outlined in the eligibility check, you will then have access to apply to the fee assistance program.

 

Ontario Program

 

Applications open on June 27, 2024, and close on August 22, 2024 (11:59 PM).

 

Awarded students will have their $220 OMSAS processing fee waived and receive free applications to up to three Ontario medical schools of their choice (ranging from $125 – $390 total) for the 2024-2025 application cycle.

 

CHECK YOUR ELIGIBILITY AND APPLY

 

University of Alberta Program

 

Applications open on May 13, 2024, and close on July 15, 2024 (11:59 PM).

 

Awarded students will have their $180 application fee waived for the 2024-2025 application cycle.

 

CHECK YOUR ELIGIBILITY AND APPLY

 

University of Saskatchewan Program

 

Applications open on May 13, 2024 and close on July 15, 2024 (11:59 PM).

 

Awarded students will have their $150 application fee waived, and the $75 interview fee waived if they receive an MD program interview, for the 2024-2025 application cycle.

 

CHECK YOUR ELIGIBILITY AND APPLY

 

If you have questions, please reach out to the AFMC via email (service@afmcstudentportal.ca).